All four of us continued to glide along at 50kmh.  None of us slowed down.  I figured I was in for the sound of crunching metal or crashing glass so I started to work my way to the right hand shoulder.  Nothing slowed down and it was inevitable something was going to have to give.  So, I put my car up over the curb into the 3 foot high snow bank lining the road.  In an instant I came to a halt and the circus in front of me kept going eventually rectifying itself and then driving onward unscathed.  Me?  I was parked on top of a snowbank, smiling (and shaking).  Then the fun part began.  I tried to go forward but couldn’t move.  I tried reverse and couldn’t move.  I was stuck.  Safe, warm, but stuck.  All because I was innocently trying to drive my car down the freeway.  A call to the motor league, an hour wait, and a 30 second tug got me back on the road and back on my way. 

 

 

I say all the above to draw the analogy to life.  Sometimes, we get stuck.  The stuckness may be literal (as in a snow bank) but more often than not being stuck is a metaphor to how life is progressing.  We aren’t going to die, but we just aren’t going anywhere.  The wheels are turning but they aren’t touching the ground—we are hung up.  I don’t like being stuck.  Being stuck isn’t death.  It’s aggravating.  But you don’t have to die.  You do have to wait til something changes or someone comes along or additional help arrives.  I think it is called “patience” which last time I checked was a rare commodity in most and needs a significant spiritual product to manifest itself in our lives.    Patience my friend, patience.  Help will come, but it will take patience.  Make a call to someone to help and watch for their arrival. 

 

 

I spent time with a pastor recently who felt stuck but his situation was a little different than mine.  He wasn’t just stuck—he was hemmed in.  He was under attack and was struggling to move.   His call for help was predicated due to arrows being fired at him by congregants who didn’t understand his actions, nor appreciate his explanations.  We talked about truth and integrity.  Had he acted with truthfulness and integrity?  That’s not a given.  Our hearts are deceitful.  We need to check our hearts when challenged.   I think he was truthful.  I encouraged him to pursue truth in the face of accusation and half truth and even error.  His board chair is going to take up his case and stand in the congregation and correct rumors and misunderstandings by reading a prepared statement.  Will it solve everything?  Nah.  People believe what they will.  Will it be truthful?  I hope so.  Let truth prevail. 

