Woody Allan used to say “80% of life is just showing up”.  People laugh at the dry humor but at the same time, why do we laugh?  He’s right.  80% of life is JUST showing up.

Have you ever tried to tell a story of a personal experience to someone and they obviously don’t get it, and you respond to their lack of appreciation by letting them know “I guess you had to be there”.  It’s the 80% of life rule kicking in.

Pity the soldier who travels overseas to a placement (or an engineer, or a teacher, or a business person) and returns home 6 months (or 9 months, or 12 months) later, only to find that their little two year isn’t what she was when they left this continent.  The 80% rule isn’t a kind one.  It’s just the rule.

Remember the grampa who you really can’t remember specifically saying anything.   But you remember the times when you would go riding with him in his truck and he’d stop to buy you a soda.  It’s the 80% rule kicking in.

I am not really all that gifted in life.  Oh I am not a total sluggard.  I have some talent and I try really hard.  But the truth is, I spend a lot of time just being present in the moment with situations.  I could send an email, or fire off a google video presentation.  But that wouldn’t work, because…

80% of life is just showing up..

