I woke up at 4:30 a.m. this morning because I woke up.  I know–that’s a tautology but it’s true.  Having gone to sleep the night before at 10 o’clock my body declared it was okay to say “enough sleep for you”.  So, I did the middle aged office/worker shuffle and went to work.

Amazingly, McDonald’s was open at that time so I picked up a large coffee and was sitting at my desk by 5:30.  I picked up the project that had been waiting completion for a couple of days and jumped in and three hours later when coworkers started arriving, I had pretty well broken the back of the project.  It felt good.

Now, as I write this, it’s 4:30 in the afternoon and I am tired.  Besides the hours of work put in, the energy exerted has left me ready to pack it in for the day.  So, I am heading home.

I could stay–because others are still here.  And there is work that I could pour into.  But you know, sometimes it’s just too much.  Tomorrow is another day and the work will probably still be there waiting for me.

 

