They had warned us it was coming.  It was supposed to hit yesterday afternoon but the afternoon didn’t bring it.  Then they said it was going to be around supper time but supper didn’t have anything unusual.  So, I went to  bed.  I got up early this morning and though it was still dark, it was arriving.  And it has been arriving steadily in worsening ways for the last few hours.

I am talking about a late winter/early spring April blizzard.  The projection of 15-20 cm of wet, blowing snow has materialized.  It’s about 12 hours late but it isn’t any less than they predicted.  All roads in and out of the city I live in are either closed or close to being closed.  Any travel is not being advised.

It’s not really a big deal except I was supposed to leave at noon for a city about 3 hours away.  I was stopping to see someone along the way and then planned on a get together over the supper hour.  Both appointments had been in the “books” for over a month.  But now, in the space of 12 hours, both are for naught.  Disappointing.  I’ve called both parties and we all agree this is unfortunate.

Here’s a thought.  One of the markers of mental health wellness is our ability to manage change as it comes to us.  If we are in good  mental health, then a change is a change and simply is a change.  It needn’t be an overwhelming stresser especially if it is something beyond our control.  But if we are not in good mental health, a change can be a stress on top of a stress adding even more pressure to an overloaded system.

So, I have a change in my life today.  I can mope around grumpy lamenting how life has dealt me a poor hand.  Or I can choose to see it as a “change”.  For me, I take it as the second.  It’s not poor planning nor inefficient organization that leads to the incompletion of this day.  It’s a freak winter storm that will be done by this time tomorrow.

I guess you could say “I wasn’t supposed to travel today” and there is truth there.  James the brother of Jesus writes a paragraph about this kind of thing.  He says:

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” (James 4:13-16).

I think he’s right.

