Boy he lived fast and  hard.  As I listened to my meal partner describe his life I was impressed by the load he carried.  He wasn’t trying to convince me of anything– he was just describing his life, his load and to a certain degree his limits.  He was younger than I am and I thought to myself “I remember those days when I could run with the horses”.  On one level it was invigorating to see him so full of life and on another it cause me to wonder when he’ll see the pinnacle and the inevitable recalibration that comes after we peak out from an energy standpoint.

I am of mixed opinion when it comes to speaking to people’s energy and efforts.  I think some people live with such reckless abandon that they really need to be admired.  Let ’em run.  And other people live with such caution and control that they need to be unshackled and released.   You want to take them by the hand and run to the edge of the cliff and say “let’s jump together”.

It’s funny how we are wired.

I think it’s one of those life “balance” issues that you need to discover your limits.  We all have limits and it’s a journey to discover where they are.  And how do we do that?  Usually trial and error.  We figure out at some point in the game–“oops that didn’t work” and if we are moderately wise we learn and make adjustments.

Medical practitioners live with the ethic of the Hippocratic oath–“do no harm”.  I think there is guidance there for us as we live our lives—“live fully, freely and fabulously…but do no harm”  (to yourself, to others, to the world around you).

I’d rather try and have some memories of both success and failure than to never try anything and live with the knowledge that “no humans or animals were harmed in the making of this life”.

Here’s a question–would you rather live with the mixed memories of success and failure?  or are you more inclined to a life avoided and the safety that comes from never having experienced a loss?

