My wife asked me about my dad the other day.  I was taken aback.  I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about him.  He died at 60 of a massive heart attack.  Dead before he hit the floor.  I was 22 at the time and it hit me like a ton of bricks then.   But it doesn’t continue to bruise me  any more. Funny how you don’t think about stuff after a while.  It’s been 33 years since he passed away.

I’ve inherited a fair bit from him.  Exactly how much I can ‘t really say.  I have a friend whose expertise is in personality development.   He suggests we are formed about 25% from our mother, 25% from our father, 25% from our upbringing and who the heck knows where the other 25% comes from.  (I take that as comfort though now that I re-read the words, it’s strangely discomforting!).

In some ways I am like him.  I have pretty good intelligence.  I have decent business sense. I have a strong work ethic.  I like people. (he was a consulting engineer, ran his own firm for  30 years before he died). In other ways I am not like him.  I don’t cheer for the Toronto Maple Leafs (sorry about that).  I don’t smoke a pack a day.  I am not 30# overweight.  And as a rule, I don’t rue and stew about things like he did.  I am just a little more patient and a little more forgiving.

But at my last check up, the medical doctor suggested that due to my family history, and my lifestyle (stressful job), I probably had a 50/50 chance of seeing 65 without a major physical calamity (can you say heart attack?).   Thanks doc.

So, join me…tell me about your dad.  How are you like him?  How are you not?

