I like blizzards.  I am sitting in the Toronto airport right now staring into the teeth of a nasty blizzard.  The overhead screens are flashing full of cancellations.  If you want to travel to the US this morning you are out of luck.  Me?  I am hoping to travel to Montreal in about an hour and from all appearances it should be do-able but it will be an hour maybe two before I go.  The snow removal equipment is going full on and I can see planes off in the distance waiting to get in and out of the few operating loading gates still in use.  Such fun!

All around me fellow passengers are moaning.  Patrons are frantically phoning contacts to let them know that “they are delayed”.  You feel their pain as they find themselves marooned in Toronto.

Me?  I am thinking it’s a gift from God to me.  You know when you have a ton of responsibilities in life, and you have a very tight schedule, and you have no room for error…then all of a sudden God drops something into your life that gives you an hour or two or even three…that you have no control over?  Well, I feel like I’ve been given a gift of time this morning.

I phoned my Montreal contact to tell him I’ll be a bit delayed.  Then I went to Starbuck’s and got a coffee and a croissant.  And I sit here staring out the window at a nasty blizzard enjoying the warmth of the airport lounge.  I am going to be late for the appointments, but hey, what could I do?  As Bart Simpson would point out–“I didn’t do it, it’s not my fault”.

I like blizzards (except when I have to drive in them).  This one is okay today.

PS   A FOLLOWUP TO THE ABOVE POST…IT IS NOW 8 HOURS SINCE WE ENTERED THE PLANE.  WE PUSHED OFF FROM THE GATE TO GET TO DEICING AND THE PLANE IS FROZEN SOLID, IT CAN’T GET DEICED FAST ENOUGH TO GET IT DOWN THE RUNWAY TO TAKE OFF.  THERE ARE DOZENS OF PLANES IN THE LINEUP AND OUR PILOT HAS DECIDED TO JUST SIT IT OUT.  THE CABIN ATTENDANTS ARE PASSING OUT PRETZELS AND WATER.  HMMM, RIGHT NOW GOOD WILL AND MORALE ABOUNDS BUT IT’LL BE DARK IN A HALF HOUR.  HARD TO SAY HOW PEOPLE WILL HANDLE IT.  IT’S NOT QUITE THE SAME BUT IN MY MIND I AM WHISTLING THE THEME SONG TO “GILLIGAN’S ISLAND”.

Further, at 7:30 pm local time, after 10 hours of sitting on the runway, the decision was made to “tow us” back to the terminal.  Then, the bedlam really began.  I got into a long, long, long line waiting for redress from the airlines.  After 4 hours I gave up.  I found out that I quit too early.  If I had waited another 2.5 hours I would have gotten to the front.  The trouble was, I had a 7 am flight and it was already midnight.  The thought of the airlines offering me free accommodations at 2:30 am only to have to be back to the airport for 6 am was pretty hilarious.

I slept in an airport chair, poorly.

Anyway, did I have the audacity to say “I like blizzards”?  What was I thinking?

