I just got off the phone with a friend in Winnipeg.  It’s snowing there.  It’s mid April and it’s snowing.  Not just little flakes–they’ve closed the highway south of the city lest people hurt themselves.  Seriously people?  Mid April?  And it’s howling snow?  And it’s Monday to boot?  Talk about your proverbial meeting a lion in a pit on a snowy day (1 Chronicles 11:22).

It’s not snowing where I am, but it is Monday.  Mondays are hard for me especially if I have had a full Sunday.  I spoke in a large church yesterday.  My wife and I arrived early, we met a ton of people before the church service gathered.  I preached my normal 35 minute sermon.  Afterwards there was a huge press of people to “connect with”.  We went out to a lengthy lunch together for a couple of hours with 4 other couples.  We got home around 3:30 and we were exhausted.  People can drain you.  We were so drained that when I turned on the Masters Golf Match, I immediately dropped off to awaken 2 hours later and see an Australian guy putting on a green jacket.  What happened to Tiger?  (I digress).

But the point of the story is that today, I can feel the withdrawal on my system.  It’s situational, it’s chemical, it’s personal–it’s real.

Ever been there?  Where the day starts and your body and brain doesn’t?

So, I am intentional about Monday today.  I figured out a reasonable to-do list.  Nothing too major.  Lots of little things.  The reason why I do “little things” is because there is nothing like the smell of success to overcome the odor of weariness.  It changes the smell of exhaustion into the excitement of victory.

Included on my to-do list today is to “drink coffee”.  Whether it’s the medicinal side of caffeine or the motivational side I am not sure, but there is something very tasty about that first cup of coffee on a Monday morning.  Then I am going to get my car washed.  Then I have a couple of important documents to sign and fax onward.  Then I am meeting a client.  And at the end of the day, I plan on having a pleasant evening meal with my wife.  It’s going to be good, I just know it!

The Psalmist talks about God restoring his soul (Ps 23).  Funny what God uses and how He does it eh?

How does He restore your life when you need it?

