So, I am sitting in church this past Sunday as a guest.  My wife and I are away on vacation and as is our custom, we wanted to be part of a worshipping community.  On this particular Sunday we found ourselves in a United Methodist Church.  We’ve been here before.  It’s a large group, close to a 1000 worshippers on any given Sunday.  The minister is a white haired, late 60’s gentleman who welcomes people warmly and genuinely.

As I was reading the church bulletin before the service began, I was taken aback by the simple wisdom of a line from their congregational care pastor.  It was entitled “5 Things To Say To A Loved One In Their Last Days”.  I share them with you here…

Anatomy of a garden - Cast iron planter

5 things to say to a loved one as they pass away

1.  THANK YOU.
2.  I LOVE YOU.
3.  I’LL NEVER FORGET…
4.  I’M SORRY.
5.  I FORGIVE YOU.
I wish I’d had this wisdom numerous times over the years.  It just makes sense.  Go ahead, use it for your own needs too.
